![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
||||
|
Domain Scam
Quote:
This has been going around for a while. It is a bit similar to the Nigerian scam. They want you to appraise your domain at a particular appraisal website, which will value your domain 10X or so its real value. In order to get the appraisal certificate or something, it will cost a couple of hundred. After that the person interested in your domain closes of contact. Leaving you $100 poorer. ---------- The names will be always different. but most give this link to a forum Domain Talk Which they have put together themselves. Hopefully you will be able to distinguish them with that. --------------------- |
||||
|
|
||||
|
lol nice one wish i had thought of it 1st
entrepreneurs ought to be dodgy as is, so it's only rite they get scammed now and then. as they say; "gr8 learning experience"
--------------------------------------
Add Daniel Nerezov on Facebook Daily RSS Reading List and Rankings New My Blogroll | My Bookmarks | My Linkedin/Resume Last edited by akula; 10-29-2008 at 11:56 PM. |
||||
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|||
|
|
||||
|
Sometimes I received emails from some web hosting company that says something like they receive a report that my info in the whois database is invalid, asking me to contact them to update. Those companies are not hosting my domain.
Anyone else received such emails?
Founder of :
Lexel Technologies Pte Ltd - SMS (TXT) Marketing software solution Product Demo : MoCo SMS Suite Flash Demo Blogs : Gooner's Sanctuary Pet directory and forum: FurryTale.net |
||||
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|||
|
|
||||
|
Those "invalid whois database or renew your domain and etc" scams have been going on for a while.
unless it's your domain registrars... just ignore it. (Even then, make sure that their the legit ones) |
||||
|
|
|||||
|
Hey all,
Just thought I'd add to this, I had almost the exact same experience, here are the emails that went back and forth. This is his first email; Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Anyway my next email went like this; Quote:
Quote:
The other clue to the scam is the fact that his signature only appears on the first email, i just put the weirdness of it all down to him being foreign and not able to speak english well. but there you go scam! thanks for posting about this and i hope this helps. Take care and good luck! |
|||||
|
![]() |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
















Linear Mode

Featured on: