Young Entrepreneur Forums  
en·tre·pre·neur –noun Entrepreneur, translated from its French roots, means "one who undertakes." The term Entrepreneur is used to refer to anyone who undertakes the organization and management of an enterprise involving independence and risk as well as the opportunity for profit.
Find Qualified Vendors
 

Welcome to the Young Entrepreneur Forums

   
NBTL NBTR

Find Business Partners Get Involved in Startups Commercial Real Estate Startup Jobs Find Business Opportunities


Young Entrepreneur Forums » General Business » General Business » Is this some sort of scam?



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2008, 02:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
Xanifur's Avatar
Activity Longevity
0/20 6/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssss388
Location: Wisconsin
Blog Entries: 5
Send a message via MSN to Xanifur
Is this some sort of scam?

I got this e-mail today:

Quote:
Dear Product Sourcing

We are Beijing Onvis Network Information Technology Co.,Ltd, which is the domain name register center in China. We received a formal application from a company who is called ShengBan Investment(China) Co.,Ltd are applying to register"productsourcingmethods"as their domain name and Internet keyword on JAN.7th 2008. Because this involved your company name or trade marks so we inform you in no time. If you considered these domain names and internet keywords are important to you and there was necessary to protect them by registering them first, contact us soon.

Kind Regards,

Tony.Zhang

Tel:+86-10-82476192-606

Fax:+86-10-62477798

Email:tony.zhang@onvis.com.cn

Beijing Onvis Network Information Technology Co.,Ltd

BEIJING ONVIS NETWORK INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY CO, LTD

BEIJING ONVIS NETWORK INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY CO, LTD

2008-01-08
tony.zhang

Is this a scam? Are they trying to get my domain name... or what? If a name is taken -- it's taken unless I want to sell it. Anyone ever get one of these?

I've been getting so much crap from china I just ignore it.
__________________

Do you know how to properly source your business' products?
Product Sourcing Methods. How to properly find products to sell by avoiding the middleman. www.productsourcingmethods.com/

Last edited by Xanifur; 01-08-2008 at 02:56 AM.
Xanifur is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-2008, 02:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssss103
SCAM :P sounds like a scam....
__________________
Looking to buy a website ? PM me and we'll get to working for only $100
I-c-da$ is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 03:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
Activity Longevity
0/20 4/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssssss7
yes, 100%. If its fishy or too good always assume spam. always..
XEROcorp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 07:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
Activity Longevity
0/20 4/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssssss8
I actually don't understand what they want.
vinjer is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
Xanifur's Avatar
Activity Longevity
0/20 6/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssss388
Location: Wisconsin
Blog Entries: 5
Send a message via MSN to Xanifur
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinjer View Post
I actually don't understand what they want.
Me either. Something about someone wants to buy a productsourcingmethods.com.cn domain or something... but they can't because I own it. I don't get it. Why would they contact me about that?
__________________

Do you know how to properly source your business' products?
Product Sourcing Methods. How to properly find products to sell by avoiding the middleman. www.productsourcingmethods.com/
Xanifur is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
BM_ag02's Avatar
Activity Longevity
0/20 4/20
Today Posts
0/0 sssssss24
Location: Dallas, TX
Blog Entries: 1
I vote scam, I don't see how you can trust anything from China these days; it’s either a scam or painted with enough lead paint to gag a donkey.
__________________
I feel sorry for the person who can't get genuinely excited about his work. Not only will he never be satisfied, but he will never achieve anything worthwhile.
Walter Chrysler
BM_ag02 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Moderator
pentupentropy's Avatar
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssss695
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to pentupentropy
if you ever have a question regarding the legality of any domain issues, you can always refer to the ICANN website. ICANN - Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers

These guys hold the registrars for most every TLD you come across, but not all of them.

I'm not sure what china's policy on domains is, but I know that ICANN could not possibly control them. The email looks like a hoax and for more in depth checking, go to google groups Google Groups or just go to google and look up this sort of issue with .cn's I can't see how this could be real but if you need to check there are your sources.
__________________
It's not easy - life - is not easy. If it were, everyone would be doing it.

http://www.nospintalk.com - news/social models
http://www.sikkit.com - Fetch. Read. Post. News
http://www.verybadhabits.com - need we say more?
pentupentropy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
YE Veteran
GriZzly's Avatar
Activity Longevity
0/20 12/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssss690
Location: United Kingdom
Doesn't sound like a scam to me, sounds like cold-calling. If you notice they actually didn't mention the TLD extension, i.e. .com/.info/.biz etc

It is basically a domain registration company fishing for sales after getting your contact details from whois and offering you other .TLD extensions to your current domain name.

As for this third party that is trying to register these domains, that is just a ploy to coerce you into buying up all the domains quickly, I highly doubt anyone is trying.
GriZzly is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 05:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Moderator
pentupentropy's Avatar
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssss695
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to pentupentropy
good point. either way, I would disregard it. After reading griz's post, I would tend to agree.
__________________
It's not easy - life - is not easy. If it were, everyone would be doing it.

http://www.nospintalk.com - news/social models
http://www.sikkit.com - Fetch. Read. Post. News
http://www.verybadhabits.com - need we say more?
pentupentropy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 05:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
YE Veteran
sicnarftea's Avatar
Activity Longevity
0/20 10/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssss644
Location: Australia, Sydney
Regardless, I would stay away from such offers. Chances are its an automated program that gets whois data and starts email spaming the owners to get a sale. Not a long term business hence you not really reliable.
__________________
My SEO Blog
Insomnia, the causes and cures - Information for people suffering from insomnia
Full body massage - Comprehensive guide to massaging
Online Library - Read About different niche topics
Water Filters - Information On Australian Water Filters
Learning How
Search Engine Optimisation
Australian Hydroponics
Francis Lee - LinkedIn Profile
sicnarftea is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 06:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
Xanifur's Avatar
Activity Longevity
0/20 6/20
Today Posts
0/0 ssssss388
Location: Wisconsin
Blog Entries: 5
Send a message via MSN to Xanifur
I get it now. They are just trying to "warn" me that someone is trying to buy related keywords and stuff... so they want me to register more.. with them... Haha.
__________________

Do you know how to properly source your business' products?
Product Sourcing Methods. How to properly find products to sell by avoiding the middleman. www.productsourcingmethods.com/
Xanifur is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 07:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
YE Veteran
rogercbryan's Avatar